Spanish Super Cup 2011: A Tussle Between La Liga and Copa Del Rey Winners

Spain is the reigning world champion, having won the FIFA world cup in 2010 by beating Holland in the final. They have for long been considered one of the top football playing nations but have consistently underperformed at the international level until recently.

That said, the game is extremely popular in the country and the fans of the game constitute the biggest inspiration for the national team that relies on a solid championship structure at the club level.

The Spanish Super Cup, known as the Supercopa de España, is a Spanish football championship in which the winners of the La Liga take on the winners of the Copa del Rey. This is similar to the Community shield in England in which the winners of the Premier League and the FA cup face each other in a traditional season opener.

This year’s tournament in Spain will be contested by Barcelona, who won the 2010-11 edition of the La Liga; they will face Real Madrid who won the Copa del Rey, last season.

The competition as it is currently played was first organized in 1982. In a previous era of Spanish football, between 1940 and 1953, a similar competition was held, in which the winners of the league and the cup, then called the Copa del Generalismo, met in similar fashion.

The tournament was initially called Copa de Campeones when it began, in 1940, after which there was a hiatus for five years, before a similar contest was held in 1945, under the sponsorship of the Ambassador of Argentina, under the name of Copa de Oro Argentina.

Two years later, a new annual tournament called the Copa Eva Duarte de Perón was held and dedicated to the President and the first lady of Argentina. The tournament was held between the ninth and last months of the year, in the form of a single-leg final.

The 2010 Spanish Super Cup was contested by Sevilla FC who won the Copa del Rey that year, and Barcelona, who were the La Liga winners for the 2009-10 season. Barcelona beat Sevilla by a 5-3 aggregate score in the two-leg encounter to claim their 9th Super Cup title.

Among other champions, Real Madrid have won the title on eight occasions, since the tournament began in 1982, while Deportivo have won it twice. There have been seven other champions to have won it once each. These are Sevilla, Zaragoza, Valencia, Mallorca, Atletico Madrid, Athletic Bilbao and Real Sociedad.

Camisetas C. A. Osasuna Toda la información y última hora sobre Futbol gallego. Noticias, eventos, reportajes y artículos de opinión